Theory
The deepest disclosure and the emptiest formula in this research sit on the same page, a few lines apart.
Theory
- Origin
- United States
- Founded
- Not disclosed
- Group
- Fast Retailing
- Production
- Vietnam, Japan
- Core materials
- Not disclosed
- Price level
- 3/4
How much this brand discloses, and how much of it we could verify. It is not a quality rating — a composition line cannot tell you how good a fabric is. How we calculate it
- Production disclosure 13/25
- Linked sources 20/20
- Own material check 0/15
- Fabric weight stated 0/12
- Country stated per product 0/10
- Construction detail stated 0/10
- Cost breakdown published 0/8
Evidence for the price Below what this price band usually documents
Five lines under a collapsible panel
On 31 July 2026 the Sylvain textured-knit shirt was checked, look number J0794505, €195, 53% cotton and 47% polyester. Under the heading “Sustainability & Traceability” it reads:
Garment manufacturing: Vietnam
Fabric manufacturing: Japan
Fabric knitting or weaving: Japan
Fabric dyeing: Japan
Fabric finishing: Japan
German shop, our translation
That is assembly with a country, plus the fabric across four separately named steps. Only Asket supplies that depth elsewhere — and not at this price point.
And a few lines further: “Imported”
Under “Material & Care”, on the same page, sits the classic origin line. It reads:
Importiert
Imported (German shop)
The same word that constitutes the entire origin statement at Ralph Lauren — a literal carry-over of the American customs formula, which in German says only that something is not from here.
Here it sits beside a breakdown that has long since answered the question. That is not a contradiction but a coexistence: the mandatory line comes from the template, the voluntary disclosure is placed beside it. Anyone reading only the mandatory line takes the brand for silent.
What machines see of it
Nothing.
The product page carries a data sheet behind the page but no origin field — no origin field is filled in there. “Japan” does appear in the data sheet, but only inside the description text, not as a field.
Theory therefore shares the finding with 21 other brands checked. Only Loro Piana does otherwise — and says considerably less in substance.
Where the disclosure ends
There is no factory list.
The sustainability page describes four supply chain tiers — garment factories, fabric mills, spinners, growers — but names no facility and no address.
The running text praises “one of the finest mills in Japan”.
That refers to the fabric, not the shirt. Without a name it stays an appraisal, not a statement.
Founding year and registered seat could not be established from the pages checked.
Group ownership could: the page speaks of “our parent company Fast Retailing” — the same house that owns Uniqlo and GU.
How we checked
We went through the product page and the company pages by hand, opening every collapsible panel individually. All quotations appear in the brand’s own wording; figures and fields were verified against the page source. The date of each check is given with the source.
Verifiable statements with a source, not a rating. We publish no ethics score of our own — for that, follow the external link.
- Production countries
- Vietnam, Japan
- Supplier list published
- View the list
What we can document
- Sylvain textured-knit shirt, look number J0794505, €195, checked on 31 July 2026
- Material 53% cotton, 47% polyester
- Under “Sustainability & Traceability”: garment manufacturing Vietnam; fabric manufacturing, knitting or weaving, dyeing and finishing each Japan
- Under “Material & Care” the origin line “Importiert” (imported)
- A data sheet sits behind the page, but without a field for the origin
- Group ownership in its own text: “our parent company Fast Retailing”
- Sustainability page with four generally described supply chain tiers and no facility names
What we cannot
- The name of the facility in Vietnam or the fabric maker in Japan; there is no factory list
- Which mill is meant by “one of the finest mills in Japan”
- Founding year and registered seat; neither could be established from the pages checked
- Whether other items carry the same breakdown; one shirt was checked
- We could not retrieve the page ourselves — the shop refuses our requests
Where to buy Theory
-
Theory
Links marked as affiliate links earn us a commission. The price does not change for you. Independent — not affiliated with the brands featured.
Sources
4 in total · archived internally- Sylvain shirt, €195, with five lines under “Sustainability & Traceability” — Theory Read 31 July 2026
- Sustainability page with four supply chain tiers and the mention of Fast Retailing — Theory Read 31 July 2026
- Founded 1997 in New York, group affiliation — Fast Retailing Read 30 July 2026
- Group production partner list, without a brand column — Fast Retailing Read 30 July 2026
Reader reviews of Theory
These are readers’ own experiences, not an assessment by our editorial team. We do not test — we document, and we cite. Every review is checked before it appears.
No reader review yet. Yours would be the first.
Write a review
Read on
A garment is made across several countries. The label almost always names only one of them. Which one, and what falls away in the process.
We asked twenty brands across four groups the same question: does the product page say where the item was made? The answer has nothing to do with price — and that is the real story.
Questions readers ask
Where is Theory made?
For the shirt we checked, in Vietnam. The fabric comes from Japan, where knitting or weaving, dyeing and finishing are each itemised separately.
Why does “Imported” sit beside it?
That is the classic mandatory line under “Material & Care”, carried over from the American customs formula. It names no country — the answer sits a few lines above.
Is there a factory list?
No. The sustainability page describes four supply chain tiers but names no facility and no address.
Who owns Theory?
The page speaks of “our parent company Fast Retailing” — the same house as Uniqlo and GU.
Is the origin in the data sheet behind the page?
No. It is present but carries no origin field.