Hugo Boss
Even among the houses that stay silent, this one stands out. Most at least say something.
Hugo Boss
- Origin
- Germany
- Founded
- Not disclosed
- Group
- Independent
- Production
- Not disclosed
- Core materials
- Not disclosed
- Price level
- 3/4
How much this brand discloses, and how much of it we could verify. It is not a quality rating — a composition line cannot tell you how good a fabric is. How we calculate it
- Production disclosure 0/25
- Linked sources 12/20
- Own material check 0/15
- Fabric weight stated 0/12
- Country stated per product 0/10
- Construction detail stated 0/10
- Cost breakdown published 0/8
Evidence for the price Below what this price band usually documents
Two pages, nothing at all
We went through two product pages in full. They are substantial — each runs to several hundred thousand characters, and the data sheet behind them holds seven product entries with name, price, availability and variants.
What does not appear there: “Made in”, “Hergestellt in”, “Herkunft”, “Ursprungsland”, “Herstellungsland”, an origin field in the data sheet — and no manufacturer address either.
Not one of those terms. That degree of emptiness is rare.
Why it stands out
Saying nothing is the norm in this trade, and it breaks no rule. But most silent houses at least say something.
Ralph Lauren writes “Imported” — a word that says only where something is not from, but a word nonetheless. Windsor gives an address which, while no origin statement, is at least an address. Charles Tyrwhitt places a flag beside the text.
Here the page is simply blank on this point. Ask the question and you will not even find something to push against.
For comparison in the same price bracket: Anton Meyer names the mill and the country of manufacture on a €175 shirt. Myrqvist names Portugal on every page we checked.
The brand attributed to the wrong group
The second finding concerns ownership, and it inverts the usual pattern: here information is not missing, a false one is in circulation.
Hugo Boss is regularly assigned to PVH Corp. — the group behind Tommy Hilfiger and Calvin Klein. That is not the case, and the best evidence comes from PVH’s own annual report, which does not list the brand.
Hugo Boss is in fact listed, with no controlling parent. Roughly 59 per cent sits in free float, about 25 per cent with the Frasers Group, about 14 per cent with PFC/Zignago.
For the origin question that changes nothing. For the question “who owns my brand” it changes everything — and it shows how stubborn a once-circulated attribution can be.
Where the disclosure ends
The country of manufacture — for both items checked and every search term.
A public factory list. We found none in our research.
Whether the largest shareholder influences sourcing decisions.
And the material composition per item we did not record systematically; our finding concerns origin.
How we checked
We went through two product pages by hand, opening every collapsible panel individually, plus the data sheet behind them. The items checked were a two-pack of t-shirts at €35 and a pair of shorts. Both gave the same result.
The ownership figures come from the company’s own disclosure and from PVH Corp.’s annual report.
What we can document
- Listed with no controlling parent — from the company’s own shareholder disclosure
- Free float around 59 %, Frasers Group about 25 %, PFC/Zignago about 14 %
- That the brand does NOT belong to PVH — from PVH’s own annual filing
- Price band — our own editorial classification, marked as such
What we cannot
- A public factory list comparable to other groups — not found in our research so far
- Material composition per item — product pages not yet read
- Fabric weight or durability — no lab test, no purchase of our own
- Whether the largest shareholder influences sourcing decisions
Where to buy Hugo Boss
-
Hugo Boss
Links marked as affiliate links earn us a commission. The price does not change for you. Independent — not affiliated with the brands featured.
Sources
3 in total · archived internally- Aktionärsstruktur — rund 59 % Streubesitz, kein beherrschender Mutterkonzern — HUGO BOSS AG Read 27 July 2026
- Aktionärsstruktur — Frasers Group plc als größter Einzelaktionär (25 %) — HUGO BOSS AG Read 27 July 2026
- Jahresbericht (Form 10-K) der PVH Corp. — belegt, dass Hugo Boss dort NICHT geführt wird — PVH Corp. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Read 27 July 2026
Reader reviews of Hugo Boss
These are readers’ own experiences, not an assessment by our editorial team. We do not test — we document, and we cite. Every review is checked before it appears.
No reader review yet. Yours would be the first.
Write a review
Read on
A garment is made across several countries. The label almost always names only one of them. Which one, and what falls away in the process.
We asked twenty brands across four groups the same question: does the product page say where the item was made? The answer has nothing to do with price — and that is the real story.
Questions readers ask
Does Hugo Boss belong to PVH?
No. Tommy Hilfiger and Calvin Klein belong to PVH Corp.; Hugo Boss AG is listed separately with no controlling parent. Both facts come from the respective companies’ own disclosures.
Is Hugo Boss independent?
It has no controlling parent company, which is what most people mean by independent. It also has one shareholder holding roughly a quarter of the votes. Both are accurate, and we state both.
Where is Hugo Boss made?
We have not been able to document a public factory list for this brand comparable to those of H&M Group, Fast Retailing or PVH. That is what our research has found so far, not proof that none exists — so we leave the field unverified rather than claiming there is no disclosure.
Who is Frasers Group?
A listed British retail group and, per Hugo Boss’s own shareholder disclosure, the largest single shareholder at roughly 25 %. A stake of that size is not a controlling interest, but it is far from a passive one.